Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

La Vuelta a Espana 2010: Stage 6 #vuelta #lavuelta

Posted by bikezilla on September 2, 2010


Cycling News, VeloNews (it obvious that these guys are Bikezilla readers)

Thor Hushovd (Cervelo), “I knew this climb and that maybe the best sprinters get dropped.”

And:

“It was a hard day but I’m feeling good on the climbs and getting better and better, so I still had something left for the sprint. A stage like this is perfect for me,” Hushovd said of the 151km stage into Murcia. “I knew this kind of climb wasn’t suitable for sprinters like Mark Cavendish. I was going uphill mostly in fifth position behind [Philippe] Gilbert and [Filippo] Pozzato who were third and fourth. I dropped down 20 to 25 places 1.5 kilometres before the top of the hill but I got back on the descent.

“It was not as simple as it looked, though. I suffered a lot on the climb but then my teammates [Inigo] Cuesta and [Xavier] Florencio did a good job before the finish. When I saw that [Daniele] Bennati was also there for the sprint, he was the man for me to watch. I also feared Gilbert and Pozzato who are fast finishers in small groups. I got on Bennati’s wheel and won the sprint quite easily.”

Thor, remade into not-quite a GC guy, but no longer a top sprinter, plotted this out nicely. He knew that the 1st tier sprinters would very likely be dropped by the day’s climb (Alto de la Cresta del Gallo), leaving the final bunch sprint to second tier sprint-hybrids like him.

And while it’s cool that Thor understands exactly at what point of his career and ability he’s at, it still irks me that he sniped at Carlos Sastre.

Did anyone notice that Frank Schleck is wearing the red Saxo jersey, not the blue? Is that a statement? Is he intentionally disrespecting Red (leader’s) Jersey holder Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto)? Or is he just trying send an “I’m coming for you.” type of message? Can he do one without doing the other?

Leave a Reply

 
