Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Wheezy

Posted by bikezilla on July 9, 2010


Yesterday the goal was to push out four hard sprints (or at least what sadly passes for a sprint when I’m riding a bike). I made six, but felt like I was one hard pedal stroke away from putting myself in a nursing home.

Again, didn’t get close to 35 MPH goal or even my personal best of 33.4.

I topped out at 32.1 and getting there had me wheezing like a 90 year old woman with emphysema.

I was surprised that my legs, which are no great achievement in cycling strength, are clearly ahead of my lungs. I never reached the point of burning pain, because my breathing wasn’t up to supplying enough oxygen to get my legs to their top performance.

Instead I’m sitting atop Kelly, breathing in short, shallow gasps of air and looking not so much like I’m sprinting as that I’m in desperate need of an asthma inhaler.

It was a damned good ride.

Leave a Reply

 
