Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

102

Posted by bikezilla on June 27, 2010


Miles for the week, that is.

Wow, those last 45 were tough.

But I discovered some new areas to ride right around Waterfall Glen, all either paved trail or road.

Did 13 paved / road miles, pretty hard. Got back to the car, had a snack and some Gatorade and went back out, riding the muddy stretch, big hill, big hill 2.0 and then the frontage road between 97th st and Cass ave.

Got back to car again with 8 miles left in my 45 for the day (to reach my 100 mile goal) and my legs hurt so damned badly that I really wanted to quit.

Even after another snack / drink / break I still hurt enough that I really wanted to pack up and go home.

But I’ll be damned if I’m gonna give up with just 8 miles left, and dammit, if I hadn’t flatted TWICE the ride before I’d have been over 100 already.

So one more circuit southbound and ya know how on some times you feel like you just got nothin’, but once you get moving it’s just THERE? Well, this wasn’t one of those times. I dragged my butt around that circuit and even  four hours after I got home my legs still felt like someone was slamming a handful of needles into them over and over again.

It was a good ride.

Leave a Reply

 
