Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Easyish

Posted by bikezilla on June 22, 2010


The first meaning of “easyish” for this post is simply that today was supposed to be a recovery ride, since my legs were still a little sore from the weekend. But I just couldn’t do the hills easy.

It was just too damned nice to push myself maybe not to my best but enough to feel it.

I’m not quite where I was last year, but my climbing is close. My acceleration and endurance is not where it should be, but it’s coming and I’m happy with it for now.

The second meaning of  “easyish”  refers to improvement that lately SEEMS to be there, but that I know is an illusion.

I say this because I’ve been dropping EVERYONE, literally. I climb, I drop anyone on the hill, young, older, fat, fit, good bike, crappy bike, even people halfway up the climb. It’s freakin’ crazy and I know it’s more a statement about the way they’re riding than it is about how great I am. But, damn, if it doesn’t feel good.

What’s crazier is that it isn’t only climbs I drop people on, which if I was where I left off last season isn’t too terribly strange (but I’m NOT). I’m dropping people all over the damned trail and I’m just not that fast.

And when I say “drop” sometimes that just means that I’m passing everyone, and of course many people just don’t give a damn. But I’ve been dropping people who are TRYING to catch or pass me and it hasn’t even been hard. And for some odd reason there are A LOT more people trying than has ever been normal.

Like I said, I’m behind where I was last year, which was really good, but not like scary good. There’s no logical, sensible reason for what’s been happening.

It’s so damned strange, but so damned cool, even knowing that at sometime in the near future reality will reassert itself.

Leave a Reply

 
