Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Rain

Posted by bikezilla on June 13, 2010


Wanted to climb yesterday. Got in one trip up Big Hill (Waterfall Glen) and the rain started. Rain, no big deal. The flash of lighting about a mile off to each side of the trail, big deal.

So back to me car for a wee bit o rest.

Tick, tick, tick, tick, rain, rain, rain, rain, with just enough lightning tossed in to keep me from heading back out.

I finally give up and go home, only for the rain to stop entirely and for good as I’m pulling into my apt.

Forget it, not driving back to the trail.

Today I started out at Herrick Lake and  aimed for 50+ miles. I ended up doing 47.5 miles, dripping, dirty and worn out.

Weather was ok for most of the ride, just a couple light sprinkles until the 35 mile mark. Then I about drowned.

The rain started coming down hard, washing over my head and face and cascading into my eyes with enough volume that I could barely see the trail. Just as I’m debating heading under some shelter there’s a big thunder boom, which made up my mind.

After hiding with my bike in a trailside potty for about 15 minutes things eased up and I headed back out. Light to medium rainfall for the next ten miles before it finally stopped. By the time I got back to the car the trail was one endless puddle and I was both soaked and covered top to bottom, front to back in limestone goo and mud.

It was a good ride.

No BOL sightings, today. I think the shriveled old biddy is  hiding from me.  Fear can make one do that. Bawk, bawk, bawk, BAWWWWWWWWWWWWK.

Leave a Reply

 
