Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Penance

Posted by bikezilla on August 23, 2009


Today’s ride should have been “time / distance”, but gambling on continuing my good fortune with a lack of flats over the past several years turned it into an act of penance.

I ended up with a pinch flat at mile nine (thank, God not mile 20 or 25), so walked back 6.5 miles to a bike shop. I spent a good 2.5 hrs walking. If you guessed that NOW I own a patch kit and a mini-pump, you’re right. DOH!

There were some high points.

My climbing and accelerations rocked. My max speed of 22.5 MPH came going up hill, AND I was still accelerating easily when I was forced to back off because of trail congestion.

Even cooler, three people offered either the use of their patch kits, or tubes. I turned them down for two reasons. 1, I was paying the price for my own stupidity, accepting help would have been like . . . cheating. 2, the thought of accepting help from anyone makes me cringe inside. But the fact of their generosity was just so damned awesome.

BOL may be safe for this season. I was planning today’s ride to be my last out that way, because I want to begin riding and exploring the trails I mentioned in my last post. No, really, that’s why. It has nothing to do with avoiding that section of trail because I’m afraid of her.

Leave a Reply

 
