Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Intervals

Posted by bikezilla on July 10, 2009


I’m scared every time I ride with a plan, but especially on intervals day. I seriously spend all day nearly sick to my stomach and with excuses about why I just can’t ride today constantly popping into my otherwise empty head.

Anyway.

Normally I warm up for about two miles worth on the trainer prior to beginning the intervals. Today I needed over 4. I just wasn’t feeling it.

So I was surprised when I actually just managed to hit 200 RPMs during my warmup accelerations.

Then my first 30 second interval came and I actually felt good, holding steady in the 160 – 164 RPM range until the final five seconds. I started to drop speed and forced myself to push one final time. When I looked down as the bell went off I had actually hit 170.

And that was the very last time anything was good or easy. I spend every other segment begging for the end (of me or of the interval, I wasn’t feeling particularly picky).

On the final 30 second interval (30/1min/2min/2min/1min/30) I wanted to hit 200 RPMs, but only managed 197.

It’s amazing how much misery can be jammed into less than 30 minutes of riding.

Leave a Reply

 
