Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Climbing

Posted by bikezilla on July 7, 2009


Ok, only 4 times up today. I could have done five if I’d backed off a little each time, but that felt like cheating.

For the second time someone came at me from a long shallow down hill as I was hitting the hardest part of the hill. That’s not a long stretch, but it’s one of the steepest sections and ends in an almost 90 degree curve that gets slightly steeper.

The first guy got almost right up on my wheel just before the curve, but didn’t have anything left after making the turn, so got dropped almost immediately. That was two, maybe three weeks ago.

This guy was better. He was about fifty feet back as I took the curve. When I got to the end of the climb and slowed to turn around (and let him by if he was still with me) he was about another 100 feet back.

It was a good day of climbing and my legs are wiped out. I did top 32 MPH on the down hill for the first time in at leat a month, but only because the trail was in probably it’s least harsh condition, not because I was particularly strong today.

In fact my legs felt tore up yet from Sunday’s 50 miles.

Next up, intervals, but I’m taking an extra rest day between.

Leave a Reply

 
