Bikezilla

Ride the Puddles

Musing

Posted by bikezilla on June 29, 2009


While I’m still disappointed with my endurance for this time of year, I’m maybe a little ahead on my climbing.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve surprised myself a few times, beating riders I thought we stronger than me. Other times I’ve gloated (inwardly, at least), seeing guys on better bikes struggle on a hill, sometimes “against” me, that I have no problem with and thinking, “Buddy, it doesn’t matter what bike your ride and I’ll stay on this piece of junk mountain bike, there’s no way in this version of reality that you’re ever going to beat me up that hill.”

It really is cool to see the pissed off on their faces, or to realize that I just dropped them and often dropped them hard.

Now if I could just get back a respectable sprint.

Leave a Reply

 
